BH Cosmetics Gel Eyeliners: Swatches

DSC_0011

I just received a package in the mail from good old BH Cosmetics. After seeing RissRose2’s tutorial on YouTube using BH’s gel liner in ‘Metal’ I thought I’d check them out. I ended up picking up 6 shades out of the 25 or so, ranging from 3 matte to 3 shimmer colours.

First off, let me say that for the price (originally $7.95, on sale for $3.50 at the moment), you are getting an absolute bargain. In Australia, a drugstore gel eyeliner, say, from Maybelline, will set you back $16.95 for the exact same amount of product (3 grams), and offers very limited shades. Though it may not look like there is much product in the glass jars, considering how little you actually need, I can see these babies lasting a long, long time.

Secondly, these products immediately present themselves as versatile. Although they’re described as gel eyeliners, the BH website does suggest trying them out as cream eyeshadows. I’m not sure I’d be totally comfortable wearing them on their own, but I’d definitely try them out as coloured eyeshadow bases.

As for the texture of the liners – the 3 shimmery shades I bought proved to pick up the product quite easily on my brush, and transferred onto my skin smoothly. The 3 matte shades, however, do require a bit of a dig into the product to gather a decent amount, and a single swipe of my brush was not sufficient to give good colour payoff. This is to be expected, I would say, as shimmery/matte eyeshadows tend to vary in pigmentation and application too.

Though I was only swatching these liners on my arm, I found that removal was a little difficult, requiring a somewhat rigorous rubbing back and forth of my makeup-remover-loaded swissper. This does not bother me too much, and if anything I believe it’s a positive – you don’t want your makeup sliding off during a night out, that’s for sure! I have the same issue with eyeliners such as Urban Decay’s 24/7 pencils, and super pigmented or dark lipsticks that tend to stain my lips no matter how hard I try to remove them. I personally don’t think it’s a problem, but for those of you who don’t like high-maintenance skin care at the end of the day, these may not be for you.

Now for some photos! The swatches were all done using a flat definer brush by MAC (212SE) on my bare skin, no primer or base of any kind (to help give an idea of the true pigmentation/colour). As mentioned above, the matte colours did require a bit of layering to build up the opacity, whereas the shimmery ones were mostly one swift swipe of product.

 DSC_0017  DSC_0016

DSC_0015

BH Cosmetics Gel Eyeliner in ‘Night’ (doesn’t that colour remind you of a galaxy?? :O)

DSC_0027

Going in for a swatch of ‘Rose Gold’

DSC_0033

From bottom to top: shades ‘Night’, ‘Ultraviolet’, ‘Coffee’, ‘Metal’, ‘Bronzed’ and ‘Rose Gold’

DSC_0034

Detail of ‘Metal’, ‘Bronzed’ and ‘Rose Gold’ (sorry if the photo is a bit dark, I took these snaps quite late in the day. I absolutely love these shimmery ones, particularly ‘Rose Gold’ for a neutral, salmony pink eye look!)

DSC_0035

Detail of ‘Night’, ‘Ultraviolet’ and ‘Coffee’ (I realised that ‘Night’ isn’t completely matte, it does have a little sparkle in it but is not quite as shimmery as the first three)

Though I haven’t had the chance to try these on the lid yet, I’m already impressed BH! I believe the shimmery gel liners are comparable to MAC’s paint pots – I swatched BH’s ‘Rose Gold’ against MAC’s ‘Vintage Selection’ (a limited edition paint pot from the Tartan Collection a few years back) and not only is the pigmentation and staying power practically on par, ‘Rose Gold’ is almost a perfect colour match!

I look forward to giving these gel eyeliners a proper test run, both as liners and eyeshadow bases. Even if they turn out just average in quality, for $3.50 a pop I’m not complaining!

Thanks for reading,

RB xx

7 thoughts on “BH Cosmetics Gel Eyeliners: Swatches

  1. These colours look amazing! I’m a bit of an eyeliner freak.. I probably have way too many, but I think I’ll be checking these ones out :) The price is good too, I’m sick to death of paying truck loads of money for makeup, I feel like we get ripped off here in Aus.

    • They are such good quality for the price, I’m so impressed with the staying power too! I know, even for drugstore eyeliners, it’s just ridiculous how expensive everything is here :( I’d definitely check these out though, BH have some great specials every now and again too :)

      RB xx

  2. RB,
    I just wanted to thank you for keeping up such a lovely blog, and this is definitely one of my faves on wp, and theres a ‘one lovely blog’ award/tag going around that I mentioned you in on my blog.
    XOXO
    Veronica

    • Veronica,
      Thank you so much for your nomination and uplifting compliments! This is so exciting – I honestly never expected anything to come of my blog, and thought no one took interest in my posts. Yay! If I do end up doing a post I’ll most definitely be including your blog :)

      Thanks again!
      Rosie (RB) xx

  3. Hello Gorgeous, I just discovered your blog and I have to say that I love it. You are stunning as well by the way. So I am a makeup artist and I want to share with you and your follower a little trick of mine that will save you time when it comes to removed gel liners… Have you try to removed them with a eye makeup remover that contain some oil in it. I do use the Yves Rocher one and it takes me few second to removed the gel liners from both eyes. Gel liner can become really dry and really stiff. Especially the less expensive ones i am not saying they are all like this. But I have experienced this issues with some drugstore gel liner. This is one of the reason why they can be really hard and challenging to remove with a eye makeup remover that contain no oil in it. But with a oil base eye makeup remover you won’t have any issues. With a oil base eye makeup remover what it dose is that when the oil get in contact with the gel liner it immediately soften the gel liner and after 2-3 swipes the gel liner will be completely removed. Here a some of my favorite that are inexpensive:

    – Almay moisturizing eye makeup remover pads
    Can be purchase at target or target.com

    – Sephora waterproof eye makeup remover
    Can be purchase at sephora and sephora.com

    – L’oréal clean artiste waterproof and long wearing eye makeup remover
    Can be purchase at Ulta

    If you also look online on youtube you will be able to find some DIY waterproof eye makeup remover.

    So hope this help! Have a great week!
    Lot’s of kisses
    xxxxx

    • Thank you for your lovely compliments! And the tip for removing the liners – such a good idea! I didn’t even think of that, I just resorted straight to this cleansing cream from Sephora that I bought whilst travelling overseas. I do have an oil-based Revlon one that I’m sure will do the trick.
      I wish I had access to Sephora and Ulta, but here in Australia we only really have Target and Priceline (our equivalent to Ulta, I’m going to guess) but we do have a few other removers similar to the ones you have listed.

      Thanks again for your help, Marie-Josée!
      Rosie (RB) xx

      • My pleasure :D Let me know if it work for you to removed them with a oil-based eye makeup remover. One thing you have to know is that because you will use a oil based products depending on how much oil it contain you may have to removed the oil from your lid with a damp wash cloth or something like that. That is the negative side of oil based products. So happy you like my recommandation. As a makeup artist I have to have all sorts of tips and trick to make everything easier when I am working on a client or several clients at a time. So jealous of you you live in Australia!! WOW! My dream place to visit one day along with San Fransico California. I live In Canada. I speak french as you can see my English is not that good and perfect but at least I can communicate with people and they do understand me so that’s all what matters to me :D take care my luv and like I said let me know if this oil based trick works for you!

        Marie-Josée
        xxxx

Leave a Reply

