Favourites: Face products

If there’s one thing I have tried to perfect over the years, it’s a flawless face. I don’t mean a flawless face naturally, but one that can be near-accomplished with a little help from foundation and concealer. This post will detail a few of the products that, at least for me, help to achieve a flawless face. I have dry, medium skin with yellow undertones for background.

DSC_0019
DSC_0022   DSC_0021

Mac Studio Fix Fluid – NC37

This is currently my HG foundation. It gives a natural, matte finish and helps to “minimise the appearance of pores and imperfections, giving skin a smoother, more flawless look and finish”, according to Mac’s website. I know this isn’t the best foundation for someone with dry skin, but I find that the finish it gives is not completely flat in the matte sense. It certainly does help to conceal pores, particularly around my cheek area, where mine are more prominent. I do like to reach for different foundations sometimes, but constantly find myself coming back to this one. I usually purchase mine from my local Myer or David Jones stores, and retails for $49 in Australia. I know, it’s expensive, but I kid you not, I am still on a bottle I purchased overseas this time last year – it lasts for ages!
Price: $49AUD Mac website

 DSC_0025   DSC_0024DSC_0023

Mac Pro Longwear Concealer – NW25

To me, this is like Studio Fix’s sister. It too provides a natural, matte finish, and has medium to buildable coverage. This concealer is great in the sense that it has enough pigment to conceal well, but doesn’t enhance your fine lines or look cakey. My only pet peeve about this product is the darn pump! Way too much product comes out if you’re not careful – I have to press the opening against my finger to try and stop a full pump from coming out. It seems like a great, hygienic way to extract product, but it would be soo much more effective if Mac adjusted the amount of product – pretty simple in my opinion! However, I’m willing to overlook this flaw because of the beautiful coverage and finish it gives.
Price: $32AUD Mac website

DSC_0026
DSC_0032   DSC_0030 DSC_0028

Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer and Corrector

First off, I have to admit I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with these products. Yes, they are a dynamic duo when you’re going for full coverage, will-not-see-through-this-stuff concealing, but application and determining how much product you need is a pain in the behind. I’ve tried using brushes to apply both products (which is what the lady at the Bobbi Brown counter initially advised me to do, use something like a Mac 217 fluffy blending brush), and for me this gives an awful, streaky application that heightens under eye lines and creases. So, I like to use my fingers for this stuff. Dab into the pot ever so slightly (this stuff is super concentrated) and delicately, but quickly, pat this under my eye area. Because the consistency of these products is like a thick paste, you need to move quickly and with warmth from your finger for optimal blending, I find. I start with the corrector, which is a peachy shade (I have quite noticeable but fine veins all across my under eye area, which I’m quite self-conscious of), then I go on top with the concealer to match the pinky tone back to my skin colour.
This isn’t a bad product, but it isn’t a particularly great one. I love the coverage for when I want my face to look spotless, say, for a night out, but for day to day use this stuff isn’t necessary (not to mention, it is ridiculously overpriced here in Australia…).
Price: Concealer kit (the larger of the two) – $60; Corrector – $46, both from Bobbi Brown website. I know, crazy right?? Safe to say I won’t be repurchasing once these run out!

DSC_0033 DSC_0034

Revlon PhotoReady Concealer – Light Medium

Now here’s something more within my budget! Here we have a beautifully, creamy concealer in stick form. I flipping love the packaging of Revlon’s concealer – just twist up, sweep across your skin, pat in with your fingertips and you’re good to go. The coverage of this beauty is fantastic, too. I’ve mentioned previously that I am a little skeptical when it comes to drugstore foundations and concealers (my skin is annoying to match), but this shade is perfect for my NC37, dry skin. This doesn’t look cake or build up throughout the day, and is so quick and easy to apply – great for when you’re running out the door.
Price: $24.95 from Priceline – I snagged mine during their 40% off sale a while back, bargain!

DSC_0040   DSC_0044 DSC_0041

Ben Nye Luxury Powder in Banana 3 oz.

Ohhh boy banana powder! This stuff is awesome! Ben Nye’s Banana Powder has taken off and increased in popularity from its celebrity status – Kim Kardashian’s makeup artist uses this setting powder on her (not that I really consider her a celebrity). This powder is so finely milled, that you need the TINIEST amount to sufficiently cover and seal in your concealer for the whole day. I bought the 3 oz. jar because it was only a couple of dollars more than the 1 oz., and I figured, well, what the hey. Once I’ve applied my concealer, I like to wait a little while until it’s set into my skin. Then, taking my Real Techniques Setting Brush, I’ll tap the top of the jar (pictured) then swirl the product I’ve picked up into the cap. Tapping off the excess, I’ll then sweep this under my eyes, ensuring to dust off any excess powder after application. This is like a translucent powder, but better. It cuts out that noticeable, white cast that some translucent powders can have, and just makes your concealer blend in and look like a second skin. All in all, for the price and quality of this product, you simply can’t go wrong – I can tell this baby is going to last me forever!
Price: $15.29 from Camera Ready Cosmetics.

DSC_0045   DSC_0046 DSC_0048

Mac Studio Fix Powder – NC40

Oh man, I looove this powder. For those days or nights when I want my skin to look seamless, I reach for my Studio Fix powder. This is actually a powder foundation, but I prefer to use this to loosely set my liquid foundation. I’ll take this on a big powder brush and sweep it across my forehead, down my nose, across my cheeks and on my chin. You don’t need a whole lot of this stuff, nor do you need to buff it in forever with something like a kabuki brush – a light dusting will do. Also, for those days where I want to be a little less made up, I’ll just blend in a little concealer then dust a layer of this over my skin to even out my complexion. Just as you might imagine, this stuff lasts forever! I’ve only ever owned one, and that’s the one I’m still getting through. Surely, it must look cakey? Nup! Just like my other, medium to full coverage Mac products, this gives a natural finish, and doesn’t emphasise what you’re trying to cover up, like some powders do. This is definitely my HG powder, top notch stuff!
Price: $49 Mac website

That’s it for my current face favourites. I’ll be doing a post soon on my cheek products to follow up, then posts for both eye and lip favourites, so stay tuned!
What are your favourite face products? Do you have any that you’d recommend? I’m always looking for new products to try :)

Thanks for reading everyone!

Rosie xx

2 thoughts on “Favourites: Face products

  1. Yes! That’s definitely a good idea – just make sure to specify whether you want your foundation to match your face or your neck (I personally prefer neck), because one makeup artist matched me to a super pale colour, and back in the day, I didn’t know any better, so I bought the darn foundation, and had to give it away to my cousin because it was just too fair. I was more successful the second time round :)
    If you do end up purchasing one, I’d love to know which foundation you go for!

    Thank you for stopping by!
    Rosie xx

Leave a Reply

